Simmer's Garden
We are completing the process of moving the old Simmer's Garden to over here. As we complete the process, you may need to update your password with the 'I forgot my password' function.
Thank you for your patience.
~SG Staff

Simmer's Garden

A Simming BBS forum with an inspirational touch catering to The Sims PC games.
 
PortalHomeFAQSearchRegisterLog in
cheers We are now on Twitter and Gab! cheers Like our Facebook page, Twitter page and Gab page to stay informed with all our latest important notifications... Happy birthday to our following Simmer's Gardeners for the month of December: December 18 - Toniad31 and December 28 - Flutterby. We hope you have your best birthdays ever! Welcome to Simmer's Garden Autumn Blessings to you!
Christmas Candle
Be Encouraged Today
Latest topics
» Daily Prayer For November 23, 2017
Yesterday at 1:36 pm by CindaLove

» 6 Thanksgiving Foods That Can Be Dangerous For Your Pets
Yesterday at 11:37 am by CindaLove

» Happy Thanksgiving!
Yesterday at 11:34 am by CindaLove

» Daily Prayer For November 22, 2017
Wed Nov 22, 2017 9:05 pm by CindaLove

» Daily Prayer For November 21, 2017
Tue Nov 21, 2017 1:39 pm by CindaLove

» LGR - The Sims 4 Console Review (Xbox One, PS4)
Tue Nov 21, 2017 1:24 pm by CindaLove

» The Sims 4 Bundle: Xbox and PS4 Official Trailer
Tue Nov 21, 2017 1:23 pm by CindaLove

» Wooford Garden Shop
Tue Nov 21, 2017 12:46 am by triciamanly

» Daily Prayer For November 20, 2017
Mon Nov 20, 2017 9:41 pm by CindaLove

Who is online?
In total there are 3 users online :: 0 Registered, 0 Hidden and 3 Guests

None

Most users ever online was 32 on Mon Aug 31, 2015 9:26 pm
Quick Shortcuts
Simmer’s Garden Staff
Traffic Feed
Affiliates
Donate
Disclaimer
This site is not endorsed by or affiliated with Electronic Arts, or its licensors. Trademarks are the property of their respective owners. Game content and materials copyright Electronic Arts Inc., and its licensors. All Rights Reserved.
Like Us On Facebook
Follow Us On Twitter
Pin Us On Pinterest
Follow Us On Gab
Latest Releases
*Click Pics*
**Free**
Updated 2016

Share | 
 

 My SimCity Beta Review

View previous topic View next topic Go down 
AuthorMessage
CindaLove
Administration
Administration
avatar

Female

Pisces Horse

Posts : 2489
Reputation : 270
Join date : 2015-05-16
Age : 51
Location : Arkansas, U.S.A.

20150823
PostMy SimCity Beta Review

Well, I played the SimCity Closed Beta - and I loved it! It took an hour and a half to download it, then another 40 minutes to hook up to one of their two servers. Then I had screen resolution problem that prevented me from playing it, so I restarted my pc and then adjusted the screen resolution - then we were off!
When starting the game, you enter into a tutorial city, Summer Shoals, with another city close by, a prosperous city with casinos, which I can't remember the name of. LOL The tutorial is great as it helps you get familiar to what a city wants and needs to flourish. Very nice.
When you have completed the tutorial, then you have the option to keep playing the tutorial city or start building your own city. The first city that you will be building is Clearwater, but when you establish approval from the city, you can rename it anything you want. Then as you progress you will have access to the cities Norwich Hills and Trinity Point.  First you lay down residential zoning to get people to move in, then industrial for jobs and commercial for shopping. You also need a town hall, but can only place it after the city has power, water and sewage turned on. Then you just keep working to build your city and make it flourish.
The music is orchestral, similar of the Sims 3 build music, but it is very calming, not annoying like the Sims 3 music is. Which helps you stay relaxed and focused in the game, not anxious like the Sims 3 makes you. Even the UFO music that came on when there was a surprise alien invasion was likable; silly but not annoying or spooky.
The closed beta testing only allowed gameplay for 1 hour ant a time, then it closed, but you had the option to play multiple times, which helped because you will continue to improve your strategy.
The only off putting thing I found in the game to me was the camera controls: when you use the tilt wheel on your mouse to move the camera everything is in reverse. When you tilt the wheel down, the camera goes up, when you tilt the camera to the right it goes left. But I adjusted to it and had no problems after that. Actually, despite that, the camera controls are quite fluid compared to the Sims 3. So on a scale of 1 to 10, I would rate this game a 9, simply because I only played the first levels of the game. If you like building and like challenges, then this game is for you. I have already preordered the Deluxe Digital edition, which includes extras not found in the limited edition. It is an expensive game due to inflation and the high cost of living, (and high quality) $59.99 for the Limited Edition, and $79.99 for the Digital Deluxe Edition, but in my opinion, well worth your hard earned money. I mean I hear of folks complaining of the high cost of the Sims 3 EPs and worlds, but they blindly keep buying these low-quality games. Why not have a go at something actually worth your money? Since this is Maxis' first game it has developed in ages, you know you are getting something awesome. Yes! Maxis is back!


Here is some screenshots and video clips I took in-game. Enjoy!



[You must be registered and logged in to see this link.]
Back to top Go down
http://www.simmersgarden.net/
Share this post on: Excite BookmarksDiggRedditDel.icio.usGoogleLiveSlashdotNetscapeTechnoratiStumbleUponNewsvineFurlYahooSmarking

My SimCity Beta Review :: Comments

avatar
Re: My SimCity Beta Review
Post on Tue Aug 25, 2015 4:10 pm by BBdoll3
Nawwwh, don't think I'm gonna make one of these cities.  wowspring It's a MONSTER!  affraid   I'm having problems keeping track of my Big City that is 1/3 of yours here.
Did you have problems playing all of those simmies?   lol1    If I was playing this one, by the time I was finished, I'd be craving a cigarette and a 42 oz glass of wine.  rolling lol

You did a wonderful job on your city, Cindy.  I enjoyed the sunsets and all of the activities you had goin on.   confetti    tnx4sharing  
avatar
Re: My SimCity Beta Review
Post on Tue Aug 25, 2015 5:58 pm by CindaLove
Well, I gave up on SimCity because it was nothing like the Beta and it was cloud play only and you couldn't get on a server to play it, no matter how many servers they wound up adding. With all the complaints about that and it crashing and failing to save when you could play it, more than a year later they finally made it in to a computer-save game like they should have from the beginning, but by that time I was so disgusted with it I never felt like playing it again. $70 down the drain...  No

It's a different type of sims game;it's a city planning game.You don't actually play with sims and their housholds, you just try to build cities and give them what they need to prosper.
Re: My SimCity Beta Review
Post  by Sponsored content
 

My SimCity Beta Review

View previous topic View next topic Back to top 

Page 1 of 1

Permissions in this forum:You cannot reply to topics in this forum
Simmer's Garden :: Blogs :: Blogs :: Simrose Place-
Jump to: